Me Made May 2019 – my first pledge

You guys… I know I said last week that this week’s post was gonna be the Indian wedding outfit… but (I’ll say it quick – best to rip the band-aid off fast yeah) – it ain’t the wedding outfit. I totally forgot it was the start of Me Made May and I wanted to do a post on my pledge… so that’s what this is. I realise that we’re now five days in already, but better late than never – right?

So, for all of you that have been waiting for the Indian outfit… It’s gonna come next week. SOZ ABOUT THAT. As a peace-offering, here’s a little sneak peek 👀

DSC 3497

I said it was a little sneak peek 🤷🏻‍♀️🤣

So, Me Made May.

img 8064

This is my first time participating, because (believe it or not) I actually haven’t been sewing clothing for that long.

Before I get into the deets of the pledge, I want to take a minute and back up to my teenage years to where this journey begins – because ultimately, my making now is influenced by all the events that have come before.

I put this out there a year or so ago on the blog, but a fair few of you are new readers so you’ll probably have missed it – I was an overweight teenager and young adult.

5281573959 494ec9d554 o

Yep, it’s me 😨

From what I remember, at my heaviest I was a size UK 18. I have no explanation other than I loved food, and hated PE at school. I still love food, and I know now that I hated PE because it was team sports. Football, hockey, netball, are all just eugh. To this day, I still hate team sports, and the exercise I’ve discovered that I do enjoy is solitary – running, cycling, weights, gym classes (the gym classes require no interaction with other people, FYI. I deliberately don’t book the classes where you have to ‘buddy up’. Is there anything worse than having to pair up with a complete (sweaty) stranger? No, there isn’t).

giphy 176